Please excuse our look. We're just getting started here.

Want to learn more about Twilio Forums? Check out our FAQ page here.

Whatsapp Business API for Indonesia

Hello,

I am new to Twilio and need a bit of guidance on the whatsapp business API. I already have a whatsapp number for my business in Indonesia and I would like to integrate my reservation update through whatsapp. Is there any way I could still use my whatsapp number as the sender using the API?

And if that's all possible, will I still be able to reply messages using the Whatsapp App in my phone?

Thank you all!

Tagged:

Answers

• Hi @hos789 , great questions! I have reached out to the WhatsApp support team in hopes of getting you a solution. Thank you for your patience!

• Hi @sbrijmohan thank you so much! I tried to walk through the documentations, but couldn't get deep clarity specific for my case. I'll try with some Twilio number for testing.

• Someone from Twilio contacted me and shared the following:
    1. I can't use my own number unless the count of messages which I will have is 10K/week
    2. Meaning I must buy an Indonesian Twilio Number (any number listed can do Whatsapp)
    3. Once I have the API integrated, any reply by my end customer can only be handled through the CRM (cannot be through Whatsapp App anymore)

This is not what I expected, but it gives me full clarity on the direction I must aim.

• Thank you for the update @hos789 ! Best of luck with your project.

• @hos789 I just got confirmation that I can’t use Indonesian numbers for WhatsApp. I’m a bit confused here.

• Hello @rikoari my project is currently on halt so I can't confirm myself on using indonesian number. For my own beta testing, I have been using US number since it is much cheaper and does not have the monthly payment.